top of page
Search

Letter "A" says...AHHHH!!


We are now a month into our Mini Musician classes that I teach from my home twice a week. I have one class of 7 on Wednesdays for about 45minutes and a class of 6 on Thursday for about 45 minutes. Can I just say it is so much fun and so much crazy having seven 2-4 year olds in my house singing and dancing. Seriously though, I LOVE this age. They could not be more ready to learn and just so stinking cute and funny. It's 45 minutes of pure entertainment for me. Each class I revolve the songs we learn, the art activity and music concepts around the letters. I will slowly but surely be posting our lessons and ideas on here with each letter.


First day of class, we started at the very beginning (which is a very good place to start by the way). ;) The silly monster "A". When you see him you say, "AAAAAAAA!!" Here are the songs I used for the lesson:


* Warm Up Song, "The Polkadots"

* Welcome, Welcome, "The Polkadots"

* Animal Stretch, "The Polkadots"

* Activate, "The Polkadots"

* The "a (word)" song, Heidi Butkus

*Humoresque, Op. 101, Antonin Dvorak


These songs are just so much fun and I highly recommend watching "The Polkadots" on YouTube so you have an idea of the dances that go a long with each song. After we learned a couple of the songs we played a game. I printed out a big "A" monster on card stock and cut it out. We practiced saying "AAAAAA" every time we saw the letter A. I would bring it out then hide it behind my back. One child would get to leave the room and close their eyes and ears while the rest of us hid the letter "A" somewhere in the living room. I played Humoresque, Op. 101 by, Dvorak when the child came back into the room. I started the music really soft and as they got closer to the letter "A" the music got louder. When the child found it then we would all scream, "AAAAAA!!"



For the craft I bought these eyeball stickers and printed out my custom made letter "A" monster coloring page on card stock. I cut out the "A" monsters beforehand then had the kids color and put as many eyeballs as they wanted on their letter A. Now they had their own letter "A" they could take home and play the hiding game with. Very simple and VERY stress free art project for this age group!






33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page