top of page
Search

Let the kids do the work: Classical Music Art

This post may seem super simple and almost too easy to do...but that is my point with this whole blog...bringing music into your kid's lives is EASY and SIMPLE!


One of my favorite things to do with my two year old right now is have him draw to classical music. I talk to him about what parts of our body do we listen with. We talk about our ears and how they hear lots of different sounds. I will even throw in a little lesson on listening to what Mom and Dad say. ;) We also talk about how our heart can listen too. Sometimes we hear things that make our heart happy, sad, mad...etc. I give him his paper and markers (or any other kind of art media) and tell him to stay frozen until he hears the music. When he hears it he can start drawing what he hears and feels! It is so much fun, I am always amazed at how music affects us without us even knowing. Watching your children just go and feel the music is so interesting to watch! The softer music my son will be so gentle and do these long curvy strokes and when something is loud and jumpy...well sometimes the markers aren't working too well by the end of the song...


Enjoy this video of my little one getting real creative while coloring to "Symphony No. 40 In G Minor" by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. When doing activities like this sometimes it's hard to know WHAT pieces to play. Below this video are a list of some of my favorite classical pieces to use. I actually bought this album on iTunes for only $9.99 and there are 111 songs to choose from, I bet you would be surprised at how many of them you recognize!



* Water Music, Suite: VI, Alla Hornpipe by George Frideric Handel

* Requiem Mass "Manzoni Requiem" II. Dies Irae by, Giuseppe Verdi


If you have any other favorites or suggestions of songs to use please comment below! Have fun letting the kids do the work on this one! All you need is paper, markers and an imagination!! :)



13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page